Suffering / Part 5 Of 8

Why Christians Suffer-

Continued from Part 4…  This entire eight part series will be listed under the category entitled Devotionals/Inspirationals.

3)Suffering Makes Us More Like Christ

God allows us to suffer to accomplish the ultimate purpose for which He has called and chosen us.  The purpose of God in choosing and saving us is to make us more like Jesus Christ.  Jeremiah was called the “weeping prophet.”  We are to be conformed to the image of His Son.  Jesus was called the “man of sorrows.”  Is it any wonder that we will experience affliction, pain and grief as He did?  Hebrews 2:10  “For it became Him, for whom are all things…  in bringing many sons unto glory, to make the captain of their salvation perfect through sufferings.”  Following Jesus means tasting Calvary and the Garden of Gethsemane, it means darkness and suffering.  Paul said in Philippians 3:10  “That I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His suffering, being made conformable unto His death.”  Wherever He leads, I will go.

4)Suffering Makes Us Appreciative

We do not appreciate our blessings until we lose them.  How can a day be beautiful unless we have stormy days to compare with it?  I never cherished my good health until I got pneumonia.  I was so weak that I could not move my little finger.  I then learned how to lean on the Lord, how to pray, and how weak and feeble my body really was.  This happened just after I came to Christ – after our “born again” experience, God often chastises us or allows us to suffer so we can grow in the Lord.

…to be continued

Blessings, Pastor Steve

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

