2012 Mission Trip To England/Uganda, Part 1

Southern Baptist Convention, June 19-20, 2012.  Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, 900 Convention Center Blvd.  New Orleans, LA.  70130

A Divine Appointment

Our son Paul Jedidiah and I were at the aforementioned Southern Baptist Convention in New Orleans, LA.  We left our hotel in the morning and were preparing to take a shuttle bus to the convention center.  I needed a highlighter and writing pad, so prior to hopping on the bus, I went into a drug store right next to the bus stop.  I purchased my items needed, and Paul and I then waited for the bus.  A distinct looking black gentleman was waiting for the bus with us.  I already had a yen to go on a mission trip to Africa, and my gut told me this man was from Africa.  I asked him if he was from Africa and he said in impeccable English:  “Yes, I am from Uganda.”  This immediately peaked my interest and I thought that this convention just may lead to a mission trip.  His name was Daniel Lugumya.  We chatted all the way to the convention center and exchanged e-mail addresses prior to parting company.  Daniel forgot his cell phone and Paul retrieved it and returned it to him.  [Please note the nature of this divine appointment.  Had I not ducked into the drug store to purchase needed items, we never would have met Daniel Lugumya at the bus stop.  God always works this way!]

I e-mailed Daniel Lugumya later.  He is pastor of Jesus Commissioned Ministries in Kampala, Uganda.  They also have a Christian School appropriately named the Mercy School for orphan children whose parents died of AIDES.  Daniel is the visionary pastor and the liaison for this Ugandan church and school in the United States of America, residing in Boston, Massachusetts.  Daniel has a wife and children.  (If you Google his name, home country and church, you will find a lot of information about him).  A good percentage of Uganda is Christian, but very few are Protestants as we are.  Only about 3% of Uganda believes like we do, and pastor Daniel is within this group.  There is no doubt in my mind that the Lord placed us together.  I am the type of person who would MUCH RATHER go on a mission trip than to a convention.  God was setting the table.  Little did I realize at this time that I would be setting foot in Uganda along with our daughter Jessica in a mere ninety days.

Leave a Reply

