Spiritual Insight Received After Going To My Doctor

Like many of you, I am a Baby Boomer and a South Floridian.  There was no such thing as sun screen when we were children or young adults.  I received way too much sun when I was in my late teens through my early twenties.  Now I pay for that overabundance of sunshine and am reminded of it every time I visit my dermatologist.  I have had minor operations, skin grafts and the most common remedy is the freezing technique.  These are a few of the many solutions for skin cancer.  I praise the Lord for them.  Think about the alternative!  Then I realized…  My problem as a young man was that I worshipped the wrong sun!  We were even called sun worshippers in those days.  There are scores of ancient cultures who likewise worshipped the sun.  The Sumerians, Babylonians, Egyptians, Mayans, Incas and Aztecs to name a few.  They too, worshipped the wrong sun.  We need to worship the Creator rather than the creation.  (Romans 1:25)  I was gloriously saved at the ripe old age of twenty seven, and the Lord has drastically modified my worship habits from that time in my life.  Now I worship the Son rather than the sun and it makes a world of difference.  Of course after salvation we soon realize that the Son actually made the sun and everything else in the universe.  Thank you Jesus for all that You are:  Creator, Wonderful, Counselor, Prince Of Peace, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, The Sun Of Righteousness, The Truth, The Life, The Way, Our Advocate, Great High Priest, The Branch, Shiloh, The Door, The Light Of The World, The Alpha And The Omega, The First And The Last, The Good Shepherd (Psalm 22), The Great Shepherd (Psalm 23), The Chief Shepherd (Psalm 24), The Bread Of Life, The Messiah, The Resurrection, Captain Of Our Salvation, Mediator, Deliverer, Savior, Redeemer, Our Intercessor, Blood Atonement, Our Mercy Seat, Propitiation Of Our Sins, Covering, The Scapegoat, Seed Of A Woman, Son Of God, Son Of Man, King Of Kings, Lord Of Lords, The Lily Of The Valley, The Bright And Morning Star, The Rose Of Sharon, The Christ, Yeshua, Joshua, Jehovah, Immanuel, Star Of Jacob, Lamb Of God, Lion From The Tribe Of Judah, Son Of David, The Prophet, I AM, Our Lawyer, Our Defense Attorney, Anointed One, Angel Of The Lord, The Potentate, Lord And God and the list goes on and on…  Do you know Him?  Peter says in Acts 4:12 that “There is no other name written in heaven whereby we can be saved.”  Jesus Himself said (John 14:6) that “I am the way, the truth and the life, no man comes to the Father except by Me.”  He is also the Author of salvation, and if you know Jesus then you also know the Father.  Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe, sin had left a crimson stain and He washed it white as snow.”  My  mother gave me a card when I left home in 1977 for a job in Washington, D.C.  I was twenty three years old.  The card said:  “If you meet me and forget me, you have lost nothing.  But if you meet Jesus Christ and forget Him, you have lost everything.”  That card is worn out and one can barely read it.  But guess what?  It is still in my wallet.  The Lord used that card and many other things to lead me to Him.  Thank you Jesus.  Because Of Him And Only Because Of Him,  Pastor Steve

Leave a Reply

