Grandmom’s Bible, #5

This category of “Grandmom’s Bible” addresses erroneous themes that are proponed to be Biblical truth but are not.  They are usually diametrically opposed to the teachings of scripture.  Another  example came to me in the recent past.  A gentleman said to me:  “You know, I appreciate all beautiful women and look upon them because God created them in order for me to enjoy in such a way.”  I am sure that this is not a novel quotation for you, since I have heard it on innumerable occasions.  Let me state the obvious for starters:  This mindset can quickly lead to lustful thoughts and even worse, we can miss out on the MUCH MORE IMPORTANT INNER BEAUTY in people.   If we focus on the wrapper to the package we will miss out on the much more important contents.  The Bible tells us that “Man looks on the outward appearance but God focuses on the inward heart.”  (I Samuel 16:7).  I have read in the book of Proverbs about the crafty harlot who intentionally makes herself look enticing in order to seduce young men and lead them to hell.  (Proverbs 7:6-27).  Just as the seasoned fisherman fools the fish through alluring bait (that is why the artificial bait are called lures), the painted lady makes herself look appealing to the baser desires of fallen man.  There are a lot of beautiful things in the world that I want to be careful to avoid, such as Florida’s deadly poisonous coral snake.  Part of the original curse in Eden is the lust of the eyes and the lust of the flesh.  As always, God has the perfect passage for this theme in His Holy Word.  I often share this verse on Mother’s Day:  “Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.”  (Proverbs 31:30).     

 

Leave a Reply

