Of Humility……………………….

Never pray: “Lord, keep me humble.” By praying in this manner, you are saying that you are humble. The proper way is to pray: “Lord, MAKE me humble and keep me that way.” I can easily share with the apostle Paul that “In my flesh dwelleth no good thing.” Humility is a fruit of the SPIRIT, hence comes only from God. I have no humility within my fallen nature and God commands me to crucify that rascal on a daily basis. My flesh is still coyote ugly and will remain that way until I give up this temporary tabernacle for good. We Christians need to give each other more slack. When we serve together for a period of time, we will eventually observe each other in weaker moments. Just like marriage, eh? Sometimes we are shocked but we should not be, since we are sanctified in spots. I am often told that so and so has his/her moments. Don’t we all? Strong Christians have profound weaknesses and Maxwell House is good to the last drop. I have noticed humble people are nice to be around and blessed by God. They do not see themselves as God’s gift to His green earth, but as lowly sinners saved by grace. I am truly amazed that God saved me——-much moreso as I get older. I am even more amazed that he called me into the ministry. I sometimes believe God likes to call experienced sinners into public ministry and service so that we can aptly speak from knowledge. I am glad, in a sense, that I was not saved until I was twenty seven so that I can reflect back and better identify with the struggles of lost souls! If not for the grace of God there go I. Thank you Jesus. Please make us humble and give us other fruits of the Spirit. [Galatians 5:22-23] Why be humble? “God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble.” James 4:6b Blessings, Pastor Steve

Leave a Reply

