Odds and Ends/This ‘N That

1)The fish symbol is the earliest of Christian symbols and was the most common representation of Jesus Christ. Many early Christians were persecuted and forced to worship secretly. The fish symbol served as a secret form of communication. (IXOYE)Meaning “Jesus Christ, God’s Son; Savior.” (In other words, the Greek word for fish stood for these titles of our Lord)

2)Christianity was touched by a movement called Fundamentalism about one hundred years ago. They are noted for their belief in five non-negotiables: a)The total inspitation of the Holy Scriptures. i.e. They are 100% truth without error. They are God breathed and inspired from Genesis 1:1 to Revelation 22:21. b)Jesus Christ was born of a virgin, without which, salvation would be impossible. i.e. If the Holy Spirit did not partake in the conception, then Jesus would have a natural father and would have been born into sin like all of us. c)The blood atonement. Jesus died for our sins. He fulfilled God’s desire of justifying fallen man before Him, since it would not have been possible for man to do this on his own. “Without the shedding of the blood there is no remission of sins.” d)The resurrection. Jesus Christ rose from the dead because it was not possible for death to hold Him. If Christ rose not, then our faith is in vain. e)The second coming of Jesus Christ. Jesus will literally split the heavens, judge our world, divide the sheep from the goats, and He will rule Himself. AMEN and AMEN. Liberals have problems with one or more of the aforementioned five bedrock doctrine of Christianity and Fundamentalism. In fact, an “emerging church” leader takes issue with this group. I wonder which of the doctrine(s) is(are) a stumbling block to him?

3)Seven Deadly Sins- pride, anger, greed, gluttony, sloth, envy, lust

4)The next time you feel like complaining and
bellyaching please read the following: Matthew Henry’s response when he was robbed: a)I am thankful that I was never robbed before. b)I am thankful it was I who was robbed and not I who robbed. c)I am thankful that though the thief took everything it was not much. d)I am thankful that he took my money and not my life.

5)Recipe for a good marriage: a)I am wrong b)I am sorry c)Please forgive me d)I love you e)This is a recording

6)Are you lonely, O my brother?
Share you little with another!
Stretch a hand to one unfriended,
And your loneliness is ended.

Leave a Reply

